Blind Atlas – Upbeat Brilliance

15 Feb

They’re not ‘just another Manchester band’. God I hate that saying. If you look at bands from the last fifty years a large chunk of them have emerged from that rainy city. Is it a substance in Manchester’s chilly air that budding musicians inhale and then blossom out their wisdom through the meaning of song? Or is it simply just a hotspot for British music?

Either way, this is no matter for Blind Atlas because lead singer Ross Thompson is from Denver, Colorado (that’s in America by the way). So I guess they can’t truly be defined as another Manchester band.

Anyway, I first heard Blind Atlas about a month back when I was linked their first song ‘Take a While’. As a first single it didn’t set the world on fire for me, but it seemed to be a progressive start.

And then a few weeks later Liam Walsh links me their second single, ‘4th Street’. Before I go into full detail about this, please listen to the song at the top of this page, because for me it is upbeat brilliance.

Cue a predictable cliché because Blind Atlas have hit the jackpot with this one.

‘4th Street’ is just genius. I found myself singing along to the echoing guitar riff, after hearing it a few times. (Singing to a guitar riff doesn’t always go down well, so I then stuck to the lyrics).

Whether this song was written in ten minutes or ten days, every melody clearly means a lot to lead singer Ross Thompson (the yank one…)

“The songs all mean something when they’re penned. They represent that time, emotion or outlook but once that moment is over the meaning may change.”

He went on to say, “We want people to put their own meaning to the songs. That is what makes music so amazing; people interpret things in their own way and so it becomes more personal to them.”

With regards to the future, Blind Atlas are hopeful that they’ll get bigger and bigger as the days go by.

“Music to me is like a painting,” says bassist Cam Baxter. “You keep adding things, changing and evolving so in a year I reckon we’d like to have a bigger profile, have more high profile gigs and in five years making music for a living, touring, evolving, recording.”

Blind Atlas are hard-workers. At the moment they have day jobs yes, and I’m sure like others before them they would like to jack it in and let being in the band be their job.

I would offer critique in their music videos, because I don’t think both videos are quite up to scratch with how they could and should be. Music videos are in the modern era a key factor in the song itself so I think there is work to be done there, but like I have just said, they are hard-workers so I think they can amend that.

But this band are very likeable characters and I think they have already established a potential to go heck of a lot further than where they are at present. Recent BBC 6 Music airplay from Cerys Matthews will have helped their cause but gaining more of a buzz will be the biggest help that they can attain.

By Chris Martin

5 Responses to “Blind Atlas – Upbeat Brilliance”

  1. ptz camera review March 16, 2011 at 11:46 PM #

    Hey, wonderful blog you have here! Keep up the good job

  2. Nicola H March 30, 2011 at 3:43 PM #

    Guy Garvey did an interesting prog on the radio recently about h

  3. Nicola March 30, 2011 at 3:44 PM #

    How the Manc climate produces great bands. It’s deffo the weather!

    Good blog. Spot on re 4th Street. I bloody love that song x

    • ChrisPJMartin March 30, 2011 at 3:47 PM #

      Yeah head that on 6music think it was called Guy Garvey’s rainy city…

  4. ChrisPJMartin March 30, 2011 at 3:47 PM #

    *heard

Leave a Reply

