Daystar – The sign of good things to come…

28 Jan

Upon what has possibly been the greatest week of my life, I have spoken to some truly cracking people. Rick Lees was the starting point, with Monday’s interview with him racking up over 200 views on the blog – which, putting my nerdy numbers into it, was 150% better than my previous best effort.

And I spoke to Liam Walsh for the first time in about 13 years. You’ll never meet a nicer guy in your life than Liam. And through the combination of Rick and Liam, I’ve talked to some other brilliant people. One of which is Simon Monaghan (no relation to Dominic of course), and his band that is called Daystar and they’re from Manchester.

Let’s understand a brief background to this story. Liam’s friend Nicola told me that the bands that Liam was now promoting were Daystar and Blind Atlas. I’d been in touch with Blind Atlas prior to this and will be featuring them soon so they needn’t worry too. But ahh where was I? Ahh yes Daystar.

Simon contacted me via Twitter sending me a YouTube link to some song him and his chums had done. At the time that I got this Tweet I was on a bus and couldn’t listen to it without annoying half of my friends due to it only being about 8am in the morning.

Admittedly, I’ll hold my hands up and say that I wasn’t expecting much from this song which was entitled ‘Slip and Dive’. I can remember my thought process at the time being something like this: “I’m very flattered that they have asked me personally to listen to their song, but I’m not expecting much because I’ve never heard of them before…”

There are occasional occasions where I like being wrong.

I finally got round to listening to it later on in the day. Again, I’ll refer to my thoughts at the time: “Hmm good intro; liking the lyrics so far; good voice he has; chorus fanbloodytastic” etc etc.

Fanbloodytastic is a new word that I have just made up to emphasise the word fantastic. Because I was blown away by what I’d just heard.

‘Slip and Dive’ is a top-notch tune if you ask me. The song dawns with a split-second of the crackling of an amplified bass guitar. There is then the quick emergence of drums and then the clean sound of rhythmic guitars overlapping, to create the short and definitely sweet opening to the sweet sound of Daystar’s first track. Simon’s vocals then hush the background sound and his voice echoes into your head for the very first time.

His voice does not take your breath away, because it doesn’t need to. Would it be the same song if it had someone else singing it? Not in the slightest.

Simon’s voice isn’t unique and neither are the lyrics, but the way he sings them with such ease and calmness indicates to me that he acknowledges that things are going quite well for him right now. Not in a cocky and complacent manner, but more as if he’s just very happy to be where he is right now.

Swiftly moving on to the rest of the self-titled album. In complete honesty, I loved each and every one of the 11 tracks. ‘Because You Said’ caught my ears as a potential second single because it is variant to its predecessor and would in my opinion maintain their great impression that they’ve not only made on me, but everyone else who I have shared ‘Slip and Dive’ with.

Unfortunately, I now feel compelled to take a slight opposite stance on Daystar. I call it constructive criticism and not something for them to be worried about in the slightest.

One thing I have noticed while listening to the whole album is that they have a lack of introduction to their songs. I’m not saying they need to add an extra instrumental 2 minutes to the start of each melody, but some tracks in my view require the obligation to be instantly recognisable when played on the radio, CD, or iPod. Whether it be a guitar riff, a drum bash or even something else, it just needs that added bit of spice to make the whole meal taste delightful.

Take Oasis for example. Many people can recognise an Oasis song by simply the first two seconds of a song. Whether it’s the piano at the start of ‘Don’t Look Back In Anger’, the pulsation of strings in ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’, or even a cough at the start of ‘Wonderwall’ – You can recognise it instantly. Some would say it’s because you’ve heard those songs thousands of times, but I think Daystar may need to work on that.

I’ve told Simon my other minor criticisms but I don’t wish to bore you with that because it will probably make me sound like I dislike them more than I like.

And I do like them. A lot.

Daystar are the sign of good things to come. I don’t think they realise how good ‘Slip and Dive’ really is. But to me that’s a good thing. I’ve heard good things about them, and I’ve good things from them, so if they can continue making music without any barricades blocking their boulevard, then it will be one sweet ride to success that I think any assiduous band deserves.

By Chris Martin

3 Responses to “Daystar – The sign of good things to come…”

  1. Carlos February 1, 2011 at 11:31 PM #

    good read

  2. neil March 4, 2011 at 4:26 PM #

    good read and top band,get the album

Leave a Reply

